Steps allows you to build a process in advance and run it seamlessly by letting you focus on the most important - the participants. Steps is a feature that can be enabled on a page in your workspace. It allows for easier preparation and better control of the facilitation process. Depending on your approach, you can use Steps for an already built page or start from scratch.

Here is a short video to demonstrate how to use Steps:

How to enable Steps on a page that already exists

To enable steps, you need to go to Page settings and select Advanced settings. In the Advanced settings, you can enable Steps and then click Save, and you have activated Steps on that page. By default, all widgets and containers are hidden. Both container and widget need to be unhidden to show the content.

How to create a new page that has Steps

If you want to create a Steps process from scratch, you can add a new page. Select Add a page from the action menu. Give the page a name, then open advanced settings. Here you can enable the Steps feature. Click Create a page and start the process.

Creating and editing Steps

You’ll see that the Steps control bar is now visible at the top of the page. This bar is not visible to the participants, only to administrators. The Steps control bar is used to change which step is shown. You can also access the Steps menu by clicking the triple-dot button in the Steps control bar. In Steps mode, you can show and hide widgets and containers on a Step level.

First, you will be modifying Step number 1. You can add containers and widgets and choose which of those are visible in that step.

If you want to add a new step, open the 'edit page layout' view, go to the Steps menu and choose Add step. This will copy the settings from the current Step. You can start modifying the new step and determine which widgets and containers are shown in this step.

Super chat and Pulse settings

Super chat and pulse widgets can have different settings on different steps. Go to the step you want to edit, choose settings for the widget you want to edit, and see an option to edit settings for the step you are on. After that, you can go to the next step and give different settings for that particular widget.

You can use this, for example, to have participants give comments in the first step and allow them only to see their comments. In the next step, you can have the settings to allow participants to see all comments and give points to them. In the last step, comments can be sorted based on the points they got in the second step.

Visibility settings

Visibility settings in the Steps menu help reduce noise to participants in the process.

Hide top menu option hides the top menu to keep participants from wandering to different pages in the workspace.

Hide what's new hides the notifications for new things on the page to reduce noise since sometimes, in a synchronous meeting, the what's new notifications can disturb the participants' concentration.

Did this answer your question?