Skip to main content

Shared content

One source, updated everywhere all at once.

This feature is available in Enterprise plan.


Shared content is a feature that allows main users to easily share and distribute standardised content. You manage all the content in one place and workspace admins can add what they need from that shared library. If main users edit shared content, changes are reflected immediately in all workspaces that have that piece of content.

Why?

Keep your content up to date everywhere: In Account Manager, add the materials that are most important to your organisation; these can be easily added to all workspaces via the Shared Content widget. This works best for materials that are repeated across different workspaces, such as onboarding materials or your company’s strategy, which you currently have to upload and update separately for each workspace.

Scale up your use of Howspace without the maintenance burden: the more workspaces you have, the more labour-intensive it is to update the same content manually. With Shared Content, you no longer need to search for and update the same files one workspace at a time.

This helps you avoid situations where different workspaces accidentally contain out-of-date or conflicting information, and ensures that your content remains consistent, even if you have dozens or hundreds of workspaces.

Creating and editing shared content (main users)

  1. Open Account Manager

  2. Navigate to the tab "shared content library"

  3. Here, you can see all of your existing shared content

  4. To add, click the "create content" button and choose content type. Shared content can be text, PDF, image, audio, or video files.

  5. Give the content a name - this is to identify it both in Account Manager and when admins want to add shared content to their workspaces.

  6. You can also give the widget a title, description, and add the file you want to share. These will be shown similar to regular widgets, once it's added to a workspace.

  7. Save.

Once saved, the content is ready to be added to workspaces. To edit previously created content, click the "..." menu in the top right corner of the content and open the edit view. You can also see, in which workspaces the content is being used.

Adding shared content to a workspace (admins)

To add shared content to a workspace, simply:

  1. Open the page in edit mode,

  2. Add widget

  3. Find the "shared content" widget

  4. Choose what content to show in the widget

  5. Save.

Here's an example of how a shared PDF looks in a workspace:

As you can see, it looks like a regular PDF widget - the difference is that the same widget options are not available, and if main users edit the content in Account Manager, the content shown in each workspace where it's being used is changed accordingly.

Did this answer your question?